Images of stunning Herstmonceux Castle [slideshow gallery_id=”3″]
Herstmonceux Castle is one of the oldest significant brick buildings still remaining in England. In 1440 a Sussex Knight by the name of Roger Fiennes petitioned the Crown for the right to crenelate his manor house. Having amassed a fortune and had decided to use it to construct a castle befitting of his family’s new found importance.
When it was built, Herstmonceux Castle was the largest private home in England. But the castle never saw battle action.
Herstmonceux Castle turns observatory
In 1957 the Herstmonceux Castle grounds became the home of the Royal Greenwich Observatory until the observatory moved to Cambridge in 1998. Several of the telescopes remain housed in the large domed, green roofed buildings that are visible for miles around.
The empty dome for the Newton Telescope remains in the Herstmonceux Castle grounds. The estate provides housing to the Equatorial Telescope Buildings, which have been converted to an interactive science centre for schoolchildren.
In 1993 Herstmonceux Castle was purchased by Drs. Alfred and Isabel Bader and donated to Queen’s University, with the intent to establish it as a centre of international education. Queen’s International Study Centre was born, and in 1994, after extensive renovations to transform bedrooms into offices and work areas into classrooms, the first students arrived. It remains a seat of learning to this day.